PDA

View Full Version : How to pack a mandolin without case for shipping

winston
Apr-03-2009, 8:21am
Hello. I have a mandolin listed on eBay and am looking for tips on packing it for shipping. I see previous threads here that assume that the mandolin is being shipped in a case, but this one will not have a case.

I've been selling on eBay for 12 years so I know the basic concepts of packing but I thought I'd check here for hints so I don't re-invent the wheel as I figure out how to apply those concepts to the mandolin.

My ideal is to have the mandolin securely packed in a box with at least two inches of cushioning between any part of the instrument and the box walls, then have that inside another box with another two inches of cushioning between the two boxes. (Also, strings slackened but still holding the bridge in place)

Any tips for materials to use, or anything I missed?

Another trick is to find those two boxes exactly the right size -- Canada Post's calculation of volumetric weight can be pretty punitive for oversize parcels, so ideally it wouldn't be much more than 2 inches of extra space in any direction.

mandowood
Apr-03-2009, 9:29am
Any way to buy a cheap case? I know if I were the buyer, I wouldn't want it shipped without a case.

Bob Wiegers
Apr-03-2009, 9:31am
if it's an A style, you can get a decent one cheaply here: http://accessories.musiciansfriend.com/product/Musicians-Gear-Hardshell-AStyle-Mandolin-Case?sku=544411

MikeEdgerton
Apr-03-2009, 9:43am