PDA

View Full Version : 6 string to tenor question

khal
Apr-02-2009, 7:35pm
In reading other posts of people who use a 6 string acoustic guitar as a tenor tuned DGBE, people have placed the 4 strings in the center 4 string slots, leaving the top and bottom empty. Would it harm the guitar to use the bottom (regular string placement) slots and just remove the top 2 strings? I am thinking of using a Taylor Baby as a tenor (I like the Mahogany top). It has a truss rod, but would this string pacement warp the neck?

Thanks,
Kim

mandolooter
Apr-04-2009, 4:30am
I doubt it but Im no expert by any means. You could always loosen the strings a bit when your not playing it. What string guages ya planning on going with? I bet after a bit you'll be jonesin for a regular tenor!

khal
Apr-04-2009, 5:30am
I like heavier gauge strings. In the past I used a Thomastik flatwound 14 for the high E on a 23" scale guitar. I think you are right about jonesin for a regular tenor. I think I might go with the Ozark.

SincereCorgi
Apr-04-2009, 12:34pm
I think I might go with the Ozark.

Have you considered the Gold Tone TG-18? I'm very pleased with mine, all solid and excellent intonation, plays very well after getting a proper set-up (they say they set them up in Florida, but mine wasn't quite in adjustment when it came). I don't mention this to disparage Ozark – I have never played one – but the price of shipping from Europe is so high that you might as well consider the domestically-available Gold Tone.

khal
Apr-04-2009, 5:15pm
I've never seen a Gold Tone in person. The body seems pretty big in the photos. What attracted me to the Ozark was the small size. Is the Gold Tone big or is that just the photo?

allenhopkins
Apr-05-2009, 10:43am
Gold Tone says their TG-18 is "bigger than a Martin, smaller than a Gibson."

Here's (http://www.instrumentalley.com/Gold-Tone-TG-18-Tenor-Guitar-p/tg-18.htm) a link that gives the upper and lower bout dimensions.

khal
Apr-05-2009, 11:39am