PDA

View Full Version : big hands, sick of being so cramped.

Justin Burrows
Mar-31-2009, 8:59pm
I currently have a mando that has a standard neck, something to the tune of 1 1/8 inch at the nut. I have very large hands for a mandolin player, and I'm looking for the WIDEST neck that I can find. Anyone know what brands have the widest neck? I have reached the point that I cannot progress in my playing, my fingers just can't move any faster without getting tied in a knot trying to get past each other. Wide with a radiused fingerboard would be good.

any suggestions about brand/model would be appreciated. I am a college student, so the price would have to be reasonable too, say around or under 1500. I just hope I dont have to wait 3 years till I'm out of school for a custom! :(

I like to play classical and folk/celtic, if that helps.

Justin Burrows
Mar-31-2009, 9:03pm
oh, a wide-necked kit would be good too, I am a decent woodworker, and know a couple pros that could help if I needed.

29er
Mar-31-2009, 9:13pm
Well I've only been playing for a few months and can't offer nearly as much input as most, but I have the same "big hands" issue you have.

I bought a used Mid-Missouri with a nut width of 1 1/4" and it works great for me. If I pick up a mandolin with a standard width nut of 1 1/8" or less I can't play it at all.

More experienced players will tell you that you can get used to the narrower width and I won't argue with that but I sure can't see being able to get used to it.

mandozilla
Apr-01-2009, 1:36am
First of all Hightekredneck and 29er, welcome to the Cafe!

There are other threads that discuss this issue so if you don't get what you want/need from this thread you can try searching. :)