PDA

View Full Version : Tab Software for Mac

papawhisky
Mar-30-2009, 9:59pm
I am used to tabbing by hand, but thought I might upgrade my act a little. Is anyone using software for creating mandolin tab, that he/she wants to recommend? Must run on a Mac. Free or cheap would be cool.

Thanks!

man dough nollij
Mar-30-2009, 10:05pm
There's a Mac version of Tabledit. (http://www.tabledit.com/download/index.shtml) I'm not sure if you can write in the free version... it wouldn't take long to find out.

demotlj
Mar-31-2009, 8:36am
Tuxguitar is a free opensource tab creation program and I see that the download page has a Mac package. I used it for a while and liked it although I had a little problem adjusting the font print outs. (I think I finally figured it but I don't remember what I did.) I found it much easier to use than Tabledit.

When I started playing with some other people who also needed tab, however, and I was doing tab a lot, I upgraded to Guitar Pro because it does more than any of the free programs. The windows Guitar Pro 5 is really great but the Mac version is only OK. When I need to do any heavy usage on it, I reboot to Windows. (If you buy the Windows version, you can also download the Mac version and use the same license key.)

Tuxguitar, though, was for me, the best of the free stuff I looked at.

SternART
Mar-31-2009, 10:18am
Tabledit already has like a zillion transcriptions for mandolin, available at mandozine.com
Many were done by Mike Stangland, the first of several Comandos who have carried the torch. Most of the transcriptions are pretty darn accurate too.

mando.player
Mar-31-2009, 12:25pm
I just downloaded Tuxguitar and it is much better than expected. I currently use G7 for the Mac, but it's getting a little long in the tooth. The output is beautiful, but as OS X continues to evolve G7 gets a little whackier.