PDA

View Full Version : Independent builders...

stanley
Aug-03-2004, 9:16am
Its not my intention to start a flame war or some bashin' fest...so please try keep your posts on topic...

Anyway, I'm fairly new to the mandolin world & I've always wondered what the 'facination' is with handmade independent mandolins. I love looking through the 'eye candy' and seeing photos of recently puchased handmade mandolins...most are incredible works of art. BUT, I just couldn't imagine placing a build order on a mandolin that I wouldn't hear or play for months (or years?). It seems like a pretty big risk.

So, I'm just wondering who has bought independently made instruments and why. Perhaps you can help me understand the benefits and drawbacks with this option.

Thanks,
Bill

Atlanta Mando Mike
Aug-03-2004, 9:27am
Do you mean who has placed an order wih a small maker or do you mean who owns a mandolin by a small indie maker?

stanley
Aug-03-2004, 9:45am
Both I guess...

I'm kinda thinking about an upgrade sometime and I guess I like the idea of supporting the 'small guy'. I'm just worried about the risk...how do you know its going to sound, play, and look good? Unless you've played one...

grandmainger
Aug-03-2004, 10:00am
You can ask people who have a mando by that builder already...
In terms of sound, I guess it is difficult to predict what it will be like, but if that builder has managed to produce a few good mandos, chances are you'll get something as good.
When it comes to playability, you'll find it is easier to get a small builder to customise an instrument to suit you. Play around, find the specs that match your style best, and talk to the builder about them.
And then for the looks, again, it would be more flexible with a small builder... you can pick you wood, finish shade, etc... rather than being restricted to the few options offered by larger companies...