PDA

View Full Version : should i go weber?

nate w
Mar-13-2009, 10:17am
I have been playing a Kentucky 675 for the past seven years, and I can tell it is really time for a more professional instrument. I like what I am hearing from the world of Weber, due to funds I would have to go with the Gallitan model, however I have had a salesman trying to put me in a Collings A style. Either way I am going to have to order without having ever played either model. Come on cafe' lend your ever loving advice.

Dave Schimming
Mar-13-2009, 10:48am
Don't own either one but I did try out Webers & Collings a few years ago at Mass Street. I really liked the tone & playability of the Collings A model, although I wound up buying a Summit F100S (with no regrets).

Rick Schmidlin
Mar-13-2009, 11:23am
Collings is great, Weber can be the same but I have only played a few.

Wesley
Mar-13-2009, 11:28am
Nate - It's all going to boil down to which mandolin feels better in your hands, sounds best in your ears, and can be paid for by the money in your wallet. No amount of advice we give you can compensate for that.

Most people rave about Collings mandolins - because they are very fine mandolins. But I've never played one that felt right in my hands { however I own two Collings guitars }. That doesn't mean they aren't great instruments. You'll find just as many people that will say the same thing about Webers. I love my Weber Fern. Like the lady said that kissed the cow - Everybodies got their own tastes.

mandroid
Mar-13-2009, 12:58pm
Neck shape matters , I really like the slim ones , [though I can work with the classic V necks on My A4]..
shouldn't cost more . you don't have to buy off the peg in the shop order what you need.
Call or Email Weber and see if they will make a shape of neck you like,

on an instrument body (perhaps with with modest trimmings ) in a price range you can afford.

even the ones without binding and sunbursted finish sound pretty darned good.