PDA

View Full Version : Desisions, decisions

M D SMITH
Mar-11-2009, 10:41am
I know this might not be the best place for an unbiased answer, but I wasn't sure where else to ask. I've been dabbling with both the mandolin and banjo for a couple years on and off. I know basic chords and a few tunes on both of them, but thats about it. I've decided it's time to buckle down and really pursue on of them, but I'm having a tough time deciding which one to go with. I love them both, and would like to be able to play both at some point, but I don't think that learning both at the same time is such a good idea, plus I don't have the time. I will say that I seem to be able to pick up tune quicker on the mandolin. I'm not sure if that's just me, or the mandolin is a little easier. Anyway, I was hoping for some advice or input. Maybe what made you chose the mandolin over other instruments. Thanks

MikeEdgerton
Mar-11-2009, 10:46am
A picture tells a thousand stories.

http://www.mandolincafe.com/images/evolution.jpg.

M D SMITH
Mar-11-2009, 10:51am
:)) Lol... That's pretty funny.

RichM
Mar-11-2009, 10:54am
I play both banjo and mandolin (and guitar, for that matter). You'll no doubt hear lots of banjo player jokes before this thread is over, but the reality is that nobody can tell you what your preference is. I agree that learning multiple instruments at the same time is very difficult, especially if you don't have prior musical training. After playing banjo for many years, I started focusing most of my efforts on mandolin for a few reasons, not the least of which was how much easier it was to haul a mandolin around than a banjo.