PDA

View Full Version : Beginners Section

Joe Nethery
Feb-16-2009, 3:25pm
Hi,

Any chance of starting a beginners section, or checking with others to see if they may be interested?

Thanks!

MikeEdgerton
Feb-16-2009, 3:29pm
If we have a beginners section and none of the experienced folks visit it then you miss out on what they have to offer. Are we making it unfriendly for those starting out?

Bob Andress
Feb-16-2009, 3:43pm
I'll give you my thoughts on that, as a beginner myself:

It's all a beginners section. When you have a question the first thing you should do is search past threads to see if it has been asked/answered already. Chances are good that it has. If not, you can post your question. The best part of this site is that it will be answered by someone who has the knowledge and experience to help you out. We're lucky to have an open forum like this where all skill levels can come together to make each other better players. And never have I been made to feel silly for asking a question. Everyone here was a beginner at some point, right?

If there's an intimidation factor involved with your request, now is a good time to get over it. You'll always find someone who is better than you at just about everything you try. The best thing you can do is ask, watch and listen. There is, in my view, no better way to aid your playing than that.

Unless there is another purpose to a beginners section that I'm missing, I think you'll be happy here.
Some of the most helpful people I've never met are here on this site every day.
Just my thoughts.

Welcome to the Cafe, Joe! Your first hot mug is on me ~o)

Scott Tichenor
Feb-16-2009, 3:44pm