PDA

View Full Version : To Charlie or Big Joe :Gibson question

Keith Newell
Feb-07-2004, 3:56am
I just finished playing about 4 hours of bluegrasss with a long time friend of mine that plays a gibson A9 mandolin. I always thought Gibson put the crappiest tuners on his mandolin so he emailed gibson with his serial number ( Charlie or Joe email me at mandolinkgn@comcast.net I have his info) and they sent him a picture of what the tuners should be. They are Schaller tuners. The ones he has on his 5 month old A9 have gold gears, black screws in center of the gears and really cheap white plastic buttons with a huge molding/parting line down the middle of them. I swear they are $15 dollar tuners and nothing like the Schaller that Gibson shows A9 mandolins coming with.
The reason Im posting is my friend is not really internet savy and since Im a builder and somewhat know how to describe it he asked me to do the honors. I brought over a set of A style Schallers (the same as in the picture that Gibson sent him) and Im not sure that the post/screw patterns the same.
He bought this instrument new from a local shop here in Portland Oregon, they gave him a OK price. Why would it have different tuners than any other advertised Gibson A9 mandolins?
I have his name and serial number of instrument plus his home phone if you want to send me a personal email to: mandolinkgn@comcast.net
Keith Newell
http://home.comcast.net/~mandolinkgn/wsb/html/view.cgi-home.html-.html

Charlie Derrington
Feb-07-2004, 10:00am
The only reason is if someone took off the originals and put on the cheap tuners. We don't ship them that way.

We'd be glad to send you a new set of tuners. Just PM Joe with your address and we'll send you a set, gratis.

Charlie

BigJoe
Feb-08-2004, 12:51am
Not a problem. Just email me at jvest@gibson.com . I'll be happy to take care of you. That is not how the mandolin left our facility.

mandolooter
Feb-08-2004, 2:28am
Now that is customer service folks!

Greenmando