PDA

View Full Version : Popular Jam Tunes?

ManlyMandolinist
Jan-21-2009, 10:07am
Hello everyone,

I've started going to jam sessions and I don't know many of the tunes. I'm pretty new to bluegrass and ordered a bunch of albums (based on another thread I started) however, I'd like to know what the most popular jam tunes are. I'd like to learn these first, so I'm prepared.

So what tunes come up often in jam sessions? I respectfully ask for specific tunes and not "anything by Monroe, Stanley Brothers, Flatt & Scruggs." I already know those are the popular ones, but I'd like to know their especially common tunes :)

Thanks!

adgefan
Jan-21-2009, 10:22am
The most popular tunes vary depending on where you play (and who with) so your best bet is to make a list of what gets played at the jams you attend. Some of the most played tunes at one jam may never get played at another...

Having said that, there are plenty of standard fiddle tunes that most people seem to know and even if you don't play them at jams it will still benefit you to learn a few. This could include the likes of Soldier's Joy, Angeline The Baker, Salt Creek, Red Haired Boy and Blackberry Blossom, but really the list is endless.

Good luck!

John Flynn
Jan-21-2009, 10:42am
Some jam leaders have lists of commonly played tunes for that jam. If that is not the case at a given jam, almost always one of the "regulars" at the jam will have his or her own list that they might be willing to share.

John Ritchhart
Jan-21-2009, 10:59am
Go to http://drbanjo.com/ and look at Pete Wernick's site. There's lots there about jamming, etiquette, tunes, lyrics, etc. He lists two chord songs, three chord songs, and popular songs that lend themselves to bluegrass arrangements. Hope it helps.

Mattg
Jan-21-2009, 11:09am
Search on this subject. It's come up before. Go to jams, take notes, record, whatever. You will develop a list that makes sense in your area.

Jack Roberts
Jan-21-2009, 3:59pm