PDA

View Full Version : BUSH vs modifided J74s

Ken Olmstead
Jan-18-2009, 1:15pm
I was going to post this comment in Kevin Briggs "One year Fern comparison" thread but I decided to try and keep that thread focused on the comparison that he did and post the string comment here instead.

I have been using BUSH strings for about 8 months now and the other day, I threw on an odd set that I had laying around to use them up. They were a set of J74's with 41 G strings substituted for the 40s. I picked them up awhile ago from a friend. WOW! Amazing difference, the high register notes just came alive and with the 41 in the bass, I was not missing the low end grunt of the BUSH strings! They don't last very long (feels like about 10 minutes compared to the BUSH set. I have high hopes for the next generation of EXPs) but I just can't sacrifice that much sound on the high end!

Obviously, the J74s tickle the high end very nicely on my Weber Fern and it wants a little heavier bass string to drive the top (the BUSH set has 41s in the bass as well.) Unfortunately, d'addario does not package them that way and J75s are too manly for me as a set. I guess, Bill Monroe's will have to be tried out next as they have that exact combination!

Michael Cameron
Jan-18-2009, 1:51pm
An...ti....cip...a...tion....of the new and improved EXPs !

Ted E. mentioned them in his report from NAMM. Hope he got a bunch of them to make available to the masses.

~:>

DannyB
Jan-18-2009, 3:40pm
I switched to the Bill Monroes and won't be changing back....They make a big difference and my mandolin loves them!!

mandroid
Jan-18-2009, 3:46pm
Gibson ML 161 [sam bush] are Monel wrapped , I have gotten a long life from them ,
because the Monel alloy will not tarnish.

man dough nollij
Jan-18-2009, 6:59pm