PDA

View Full Version : Live set up for Mando and Guitar?

Rob Gerety
Jan-08-2009, 9:01am
I play acoustic guitar and acoustic mando. I use pickups on both. I would like to run both through my Baggs para acoustic preamp/di and into a mixer then to the PA. I want to work this out so I can quickly go from one instrument to the other between tunes with no chance of popping when plugging in and out.

What is a good way to do this? I am new to all this so I need to understand the entire signal chain you are recommending. Interested in whether a foot switch might help in there somewhere and also whether I need two Baggs para acoustic units or can go with one. I do shape the tone a bit with the Baggs - if I use one will I have to futz around adusting the eq when I change from guitar to mando? I see folks doing this all the time at contra dances - just not sure how to make this all work and I don't want to waste a lot of money experimenting. Basically I am adding the mando to my playing and I'm not sure how to get all wired up and sounding good with the two instruments instead of one.

mandroid
Jan-08-2009, 11:47am
If you don't have a mute button handy.

'Silent Knight' instrument cables comes to mind , they made those to do quiet hot swaps.

the end that would buzz, shorts the connectors together , until fully inserted again into the instrument .

that still leaves you with the EQ to fuss with after the swap,
but just buying a new instrument cable wont cost much.

if the Channels 3 band non parametric EQ is adequate, ... try a small sub mixer near you,
and plug an instrument each in a channel, then you have a level
to raise on one and lower on the other leaving them both plugged in.

may not have that Baggs in the chain at all , or use it/them in an effects loop .

Just a thought.

OTOH, I have a Mute button on my AC-60 amp, so I use that, to swap instruments .

If I were to need a PA hookup there is a pre-amp out on those ..

lenf12
Jan-08-2009, 4:13pm