PDA

View Full Version : OK--what's the deal with fretless fretboard extensions?

MandoJam
Dec-12-2008, 3:23am
I have been wondering what the use of fretboard extensions are when they have no frets on them. I have been playing a celtic style Weber for a few years and recently came across a good deal for a nice sounding Michael Kelly Elegante F style. I know they don't have the best rep on this site but it really does have a nice sound.(I got lucky I guess) The only problem is the extension is right in the sweet spot and I need to dig a little less deep on my attack to not get that click-click-click. If I sawed it off what could I use it for? Maybe a tongue depressor? Any ideas?

Stephanie Reiser
Dec-12-2008, 4:10am
People usually keep intact the extension to retain that traditional "florida" design aspect of their fretboard. It is purely asthetics. Personally, I like the design of the extension and when I see a mandolin without one it looks odd to me. But that is personal taste. My favorite color is blue; yours might be red. Lots of people scoop out their extention and still others, after scooping the thing out, have fake frets installed to give the look of a complete set of 29 frets. My personal mando has 23 frets and I do have the rest of the extension scooped out. I like the look. Tongue depressor? That's a good one. Or necklace, or tie bolo thingy. Alot of mandolins just have the fretboard sawn off at some point, around the 23rd fret. Let's face it: Who among us really play that far up. The farthest I have played is the 19th or 20th.

MandoJam
Dec-12-2008, 4:49am
Thanks Stephanie--I do like the aesthetic of the extension and your work looks sweet. If I don't saw it off I can make the adjustment in my playing to not hit the extension. I have a live CD with Mike Marshall and Barbara Higbie where you can here Mike hitting that extension with his pick but it takes nothing away from the tune. It's just adrenaline in the live performance.

danb
Dec-12-2008, 5:08am