PDA

View Full Version : Funny G string with D'Addario J75??

brotherwo
Dec-10-2008, 1:12pm
Hey there...

To be honest, I dont change strings often and I'm a novice at changing them so that might have a lot to do with my question.

So someone gave me a set of J75s and I decided to try them out. After struggling to put them on (still have a hard time stringing), the G strings sound a little strange..buzzing style, the other 6 sound normal to me.

Has any one run into this problem?
Is this sound a product of incorrect stringing? When I was stringing I followed DAddario video...the best I could. However I might have tucked the string under itself in the wrong direction.

The string is tight but could sloppy stringing around the "rut" (tuners) cause this. Or am I crazy and this is just the sound of a new G string???

lenf12
Dec-10-2008, 3:53pm
J75s have a 0.041" diameter iirc which may be fatter than what you had on there before. It could be that the strings are buzzing on a fret. Assuming you have an adjustable bridge, raise the action just a bit on the bass side. Try a 1/4 turn at a time on the adjustment wheel on the bass side of the bridge. It should clear up within a full turn or so.

Len B.
Clearwater, FL

brotherwo
Dec-10-2008, 4:09pm
J75s have a 0.041" diameter iirc which may be fatter than what you had on there before. It could be that the strings are buzzing on a fret. Assuming you have an adjustable bridge, raise the action just a bit on the bass side. Try a 1/4 turn at a time on the adjustment wheel on the bass side of the bridge. It should clear up within a full turn or so.

Len B.
Clearwater, FL

thanks for fielding that newbie question! I cant wait to get home and try it!
:mandosmiley:

Ill let you know if it works

TonyP
Dec-10-2008, 7:17pm