PDA

View Full Version : Problems

Michael Stover
Dec-08-2008, 1:06am
I don't visit this forum often, but I'm searching for some info and having problems.

First off, I'm looking for info on nut placement and height. I typed 'nut height' into the general search box, and got every thread with the word 'height' in it--including those with no mention of 'nut'. When I typed in just 'nut' I got this message:

Sorry - no matches. Please try some different terms.

The following words are either very common, too long, or too short and were not included in your search : nut
So am I to believe that any word with three letters or less will be ignored by the search function???

Also, I went to the support threads to find some answers. The main page claims there are 90 threads under this heading--why do I only see 25 when I open it?

:mad:...

Joel Spaulding
Dec-08-2008, 1:23am
Welcome DJ Clem!

I am no expert but have been a pretty loyal denizen of the Cafe for 18 months now. So take my advice for what it may be worth and others will chime in with more info soon.

The search function will not find words less than 4 letters. It is my understanding that setting the default to three letters caused more problems than it was worth. ( Scott, Dan or Mike E. are the resident experts on the computer issues.)

If you scroll to the bottom of the 25 (now 26) threads, you can select to view threads from the last month, week, year, etc. The default setting is month, so you will only see the 26 threads started in the past 30(31?) days. If you reset the choice to one year, you will see several more pages of threads.

Regarding the search:
You could try a search of the equipment forum using surrogate terms like : intonation, setup, bridge, "string AND height" or action and you may find info about adjusting the nut/slots. You may have to weed through more threads - but that may be better than finding no threads.