PDA

View Full Version : Intonation Problems

Uncle Mac
Dec-05-2008, 11:16pm
My first post here - I hope somebody can help.

I am relatively new to the mandolin, although I have been playing the guitar and the banjo for many years. I have an approximately 5 year old Breedlove KF Quartz that I bought used a few months ago. I love the instrument, but it seems to have intonation problems on the G string - generally sounding sharp from about two frets up, although I'm not having this problem on any of the other strings.

It looks to me like one of the metal posts on the adjustable bridge (the one on the g string side) may be bent, causing the top of the bridge to slope toward the fingerboard. Is this a common problem for adjustable bridges? If the post IS bent, how would I know? If I have a bent post, do I need to buy an entirely new bridge, or is there a less expensive fix.

Any insight you can offer would be appreciated. I think I'll try to get a picture of the bridge and post it up here.

Uncle Mac
Dec-05-2008, 11:32pm
Sorry. I thought uploading pics would be a good deal easier than it seems to be. So no pics. I could make some kind of facebook thing if necessary, I guess.

Mike Bromley
Dec-06-2008, 4:04am
If the post IS bent, that implies that the instrument may have taken a considerable impact at some point.

If it is misaligned and leaning, disassembling the bridge when the strings are off and reinserting the post into the bridge base may be an option. If it is bent, rotating it 90 degrees might help, if that doesn't cause it to bind in the bridge saddle.

On the other hand, if the nut grooves are crowned, the intonation will be thrown off as well.

Ivan Kelsall
Dec-06-2008, 4:25am
Hi - Do all the other strings sound ok apart from the G strings ?.Certainly,with your Mandolin being a Breedlove,i wouldn't have thought of any fret problems,so your 'bridge theory' could be it.