PDA

View Full Version : Three French oddities on eBay

allenhopkins
Nov-13-2008, 10:52am
I'm posting this hear rather than the "Auction Site" forum because the instruments are of direct interest to the CBOM crowd. Moderator -- feel free to move it if desired.

A French seller is posting three interesting instruments on eBay; all double-course, either eight or ten strings.

Here's the link to my search. (http://instruments.shop.ebay.com/items/?_nkw=mandocello&_sacat=619&_fromfsb=&_trksid=m270.l1313&_odkw=mandocllo&_osacat=619)

I'm always a bit scared of buying from outside the US, and I have no direct knowledge of the seller or his/her reliability, but I found the three unique and interesting. Not that I'm likely to bid, but I thought others might at least like to look.

JEStanek
Nov-13-2008, 10:55am
I moved this to the Cragslist/e-bay section with a permament redirect in the CBOM section for people to see. Interesting things there Allen!

Jamie

violmando
Nov-13-2008, 10:49pm
I've been watching them, too, Allen. If I wasn't currently out of work, I'd go for one, just to see how they were, but I am also leery of buying out of the US, too. He/she has sold at least one that I know of, because I have had them on my watch list. But this new inexpensive one has me wondering....I wouldn't mind a "beater" for when I don't want to take my Larson/Stahl cello out.
Yvonne in Ohio

John Flynn
Nov-13-2008, 11:10pm
Did anyone notice the fretboard on one of the 10 string mandocellos? It looks like it's got two quarter-tone frets on it. Anyone know the story behind that?

delsbrother
Nov-13-2008, 11:43pm
These instruments were discussed a bit on THIS THREAD (http://www.mandolincafe.com/forum/showthread.php?t=10348&highlight=mandole) awhile back. They are mandoles, used in Algerian Chaabi music, and (depending on how the prevailing wind blows) may or may not be related to mandolins at all...