PDA

View Full Version : if you were to move anywhere for bluegrass

drewgrass
Oct-21-2008, 4:58pm
just wondering not trying to start a big pi%#ing contest on who has the best local scene but if you were to move anywhere just to jam and have a good time playing bg and old time music where would you go. where im from there aint much. im going to be a working stiff for the rest of my life might as well go somewhere where my interest are served. north carolina, georgia, colorado kentucky anywhere in the south is fine.
im no pro so im not interested in nashville

jim_n_virginia
Oct-21-2008, 9:18pm
I've alway wanted to live in Galax, VA LOTSA good music going on around there and and it seems like almost everyone plays and they are all GOOD!

Second I've always wanted to live in the rural parts of West Virginia. I just think I would like the simpler life up there.

I love the mountains and I love mountain music!

:mandosmiley:

sunburst
Oct-21-2008, 9:26pm
Anywhere from southern Ohio through Kentucky and Virginia and into western North Carolina is a good area to find a community like you're looking for. There are other places too (like parts of New England and Southern California), but that is the part of the world I'm most familiar with.

allenhopkins
Oct-21-2008, 9:58pm
Probably not the Northeast, but if the vagaries of life take you there, Boston MA and Ithaca NY come to mind. Ithaca is bodaciously musically active for a small college town.

F5GRun
Oct-21-2008, 10:45pm
For me, 2 places come to mind. Boulder, CO or Wheeling, WV. I feel alot of good comes out of those places.

Mike Snyder
Oct-21-2008, 10:49pm