PDA

View Full Version : Used Eastman 515 - Anything I should look out for?

Raschied
Oct-16-2008, 10:16am
Hi Everyone,

I'm relatively new to the world of Mandos. Picked up an Epiphone MM-30 about 4 months ago, and just fell in love. After years of frustration with guitars, bass, and keyboards, I finally found an instrument that just 'fits.'

I started to notice certain things about the MM-30 - like the G string being 'off' around the 7th fret. It's almost a half-step sharp. I also ran into some cash, so I started looking around for something a little nicer.

Last night, I picked up an Eastman 515 from Craig's List. Serial # 500, made in 2006, bought from a local music store. The price has me a little concerned. I got it for $500. It appears to sell new for around $800-900. It's a beautiful instrument, action is low, frets are in good shape. Bridge looks good, and the intonation is good on 7th and 12th frets. Strings are worn from playing, but that's fixable. No visible cracks, body feels much more solid than my MM-30. He even threw in the wall-mount hanger he used to keep it on.

Anything I should be on the lookout for? I feel like I got a great deal, but I'm always concerned I got ripped off, and won't know it for a while.

Marc Berman
Oct-16-2008, 11:27am
I've got a 515 and love it. As for the price I think you got a good deal. I haven't seen any new ones going for $800 but I could be wrong.

Jim Broyles
Oct-16-2008, 11:44am
Raschied, you got a good deal on that 515, if there are no serious issues with it. Did you get a case with it?
FWIW, your Epiphone should be able to be adjusted for intonation. Mandolins are not automatically correctly intonated; many times the bridge position must be changed for optimum intonation. You'll probably have to do it eventually with your Eastman.

imandolinin
Oct-16-2008, 11:56am