PDA

View Full Version : Fluke Ukulele - advice from present users, please

scgc.om
Sep-18-2008, 7:45pm
I apologize for posting this here at MandoCafe . . . however, I do not know of the Ukulele equivalent forum - and I think there are probably some Uke players here who will be able to help me.

I'm a complete novice, so I need the basics.

I thinking about getting a Fluke Ukulele for our household. My questions are:

1) Am I right that a Fluke is a Quality Instrument (i.e. decent sound, good intonation, good value, AND USA made :mandosmiley:)?

2) If I'm reading the Flea Market website properly, the Fluke is available in both Concert and Tenor - a Tenor having a longer scale length and thus capable of both GCEA and DGBE tuning. I am leaning towards a Tenor, for the versatility. Am I right to think this way? Is there an Up-Charge for a tenor model? [The website doesn't seem to say.] If there is an UpCharge, what is it and is it worth it?

3) I think I'm reading between the lines correctly: the tops are all laminate - right?? If this is right, I'm thinking of just going for an Entry Level model - probably Hibiscus red. Seems to me that paying more for graphics on the same top is $ wasted.

4) There does seem to be one model that has a solid top - The Koa model. It's a lot more $ - nearly double the entry models' price. It also has special fingerboard and bridge woods, special tuners, and adjustable bridge. Is the Koa model worth the extra $?? Mainly, does the solid top sound better than the plywood models??

Thanks for all help!

ps - What is the MandoCafe equivalent in the Uke World??

Tim2723
Sep-18-2008, 9:41pm
I'm not exerienced with the Fluke instruments, although I've seen them a lot and they seem very popular. I tried the trick of re-stringing a tenor into DGBE tuning but wasn't happy with the result. I needed to use thick, loose strings and lost all the tone. For DGBE tuning I would personally stick with the baritone ukulele.