PDA

View Full Version : Hilburn Mandolins

John Flynn
Jul-08-2004, 6:37pm
I just read the interview with Jim Hilburn in the June edition of Mel Bay's Mandolin Sessions. It has pix of about the coolest looking F-5 I have every seen, IMHO. My MAS is flaring up! I was also interested to find out about Hilburn's connection with the guy who makes Nugget mandos, my ultimate fantasy brand. So, this has probably been discussed before, but what has been anyone's experience with Hilburn mandos? What price range is he in? His website doesn't say.

Here is link to the Mando Sessions article:
http://www.mandolinsessions.com/jun04/interview.html

grsnovi
Jul-08-2004, 7:45pm
I agree that Jim's black-faced F5 with the abalone fern headstock inlay and natural flamed back is GORGEOUS!

Jul-08-2004, 7:54pm
Man I think that is one of the most beautiful mandolins I have ever seen.

Steven Stone
Jul-08-2004, 9:36pm
I've been playing #21 for almost two years. It is a wonderful mando. I've already contracted for #42. Perhaps I'll also put an order in for #84 and #168 http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

But seriously Jim is a fine builder, a great guy, and a really good mandolin player.

Fuzzyway
Jul-08-2004, 11:15pm
I've had #24 for a little over a year and it is one of the finer mando's I've had the chance to play. Mando-medic and I have compared #24 to several of the premium Gibson signature models and none of them made me want to trade.

Contact Jim Hilburn for current prices and wait time, but for the quality of work he does, I would say he is undervalued.

Best, fuzzy

Thomas
Jul-09-2004, 6:58am