PDA

View Full Version : Wandolin

larrybivey
Sep-12-2008, 8:33am
Hello Everyboday;
I'm new to the site, and I just wanted to post some pics of my recently finished Moongrazer mandolin kit. This is my first attempt at mandolin building. I call it a (Wandolin), the pic on the back is my wife, I wanted to honor her and this way she'll always be close to me.I made a couple of changes to the kit, I added the MOP pickguard and the inlays, working on a MOP truss rod cover.

Mandolusional
Sep-12-2008, 10:16am
Hey congrats on your first build, looks nice! I've never seen a photo on the back of a mandolin, how's you work that out?

John Flynn
Sep-12-2008, 10:30am
This would be a great idea for justifying mandolin purchases! "Yeah honey, I know that Gilchrist I ordered is $25,000, but I'm having him put YOUR PICTURE on the back of it!" :grin:

larrybivey
Sep-12-2008, 1:02pm
waterslide decal paper, you run it thru your printer, just like printing anything else. Then spray 2 coats of clear lacquer over it, let it dry cut it out and soak in water for a few seconds until it releases and apply, then finish out. I have 15 coats of nitrocellous lacquer over it and then went thru the wet sand process.
thanks larry

Mandolusional
Sep-12-2008, 2:44pm
Never heard of that done, and incidentally, I meant "how'd" as in "how did," now "how's you work that out?" Ha, well the new, 3-hour edit time frame caught me this time! Again, good work and I hope you keep at it.

Out in the Woods
Sep-12-2008, 4:33pm
I like it! But my biggest question is: have you plugged it in yet?

larrybivey
Sep-12-2008, 7:50pm
yes, and this thing sounds great. I run it thru a Fender 212R amp, the dual pick-ups were an upgrade that I highly recommend.

steve V. johnson
Sep-12-2008, 10:20pm
Hey Larry,

Nice work!

Now, about the two pickups... how did you come to use two and how did you figure the distance