PDA

View Full Version : L.r. baggs radius

Trey Young
Aug-19-2008, 7:06am
Hey there, has any one installed the Baggs Radius p'up permanently (drilled out the endpin and attached the transducer to the under side of the top)? If so did you just place the p'up directly under where you had found the sweet spot on the top? Are there any other helpful hints you can throw my way before I take the plunge? I'll be installing this on my Elkhorn A-5 model. I've been using the p'up on this mandolin for about 2 months now and have found the sweet spot to be exactly where the owner's manual suggested, and have tried 2 other places (both a slight move towards the bass side of the bridge). Thanks in advance.

Barb Friedland
Aug-19-2008, 7:37am
I haven't done the permanent install on my Baggs p'up yet but I believe the suggested spot is indeed on the back side of the sweet spot. That's what I'm planning on and it makes sense to me.

mandroid
Aug-19-2008, 4:22pm
See: http://www.tapastring.com/vintagejack.htm

Don't even have to ream out to 1/2"for a 1/4" jack, then.
tapered end pin with 1/8" jack , [&matching cords too]

Sheryl McDonald
Aug-19-2008, 9:17pm
Our band mando player did this on his Gibson F9. The sweet spot was to the G string side of the bridge -- between the tailpiece and the bridge. Now he is finding that he can't have one volume for chopping and solos. I guess a foot switch will fix that issue.

lenf12
Aug-20-2008, 1:19pm
mcH said: "Now he is finding that he can't have one volume for chopping and solos".

What do you mean by this statement? Doesn't the LRB Radius respond to differences in playing dynamics, chop vs. solo? I would have guessed that if he set the overall volume for soloing (relatively loud) and then chopped with a lighter touch, he could avoid using a volume pedal. I could be all wrong. Please provide more info.

Thanks,
Len B.
Clearwater, FL

EdSherry
Aug-20-2008, 2:02pm