PDA

View Full Version : Right hand technique

Huda
Aug-18-2008, 4:35am
Hi all,

I've been playing mandolin and bouzouki for almost four years, and I still don't feel comfortable using a pick.

I have gotten into a habit of using my fingernails for chords, and a pick for melodies, but: (1) it is hard to switch back and forth between pick and fingernails, and (2) I feel that there has got to be a better way.

Specifically:

1. When I play chords with a pick, the pick wants to fly out of my hands!

2. When I play chords with my fingernails, it feels so right! But: (1) It is destroying my pointer fingernail, and (2) I feel that I "should" be playing with a pick.

3. When I play melody with a pick, I can go fast and sound good. But it is hard to swtich between melody (with a pick) and chords (with no pick).

4. When I play melody with my fingernails, I mimick the up-down motion of a pick by playing thumb-pointer finger on the two strings of a single course. With this technique, I can't play fast or sound particularly good.

Help!

Any suggestions?

Klaus Wutscher
Aug-18-2008, 6:58am
While, to my (limited) knowledge, there is a school of playing the mandolin with fingers, it is pretty much restricted to historic instruments, that are gut-stringed precedors of the "modern" mandolin, tuned to 4ths (Eugene may chime in on this matter). As you found out, playing the mandolin with fingers produces a very quiet tone which may appeal in certain situations, but is simply not practical when playing with other people. You could try to use metal fingerpicks, but you would have to adjust your strumming technique, so that may not work for you.

Another problem is the short scale and high string tension, and the double strings. It´s a combination that doesn´t lend itself too well to fingerpicking. Different story on an octave - that could possibly work.