PDA

View Full Version : Two point mandolins

lloydalan
Aug-09-2008, 2:56pm
Greetings Everyone!
My name is Lloyd, and I am new to the mandolin and your wonderful website. I have never seen a website with so much great information, and helpful, courteous members.

I have a question regarding two point mandolins and F-style mandolins. Do they sound basically the same, or do they possess different tone qualities. If there are differences, are they pretty obvious, or more on the subtle side?

I appreciate your help!

Cheers,
Lloyd

Tim2723
Aug-09-2008, 3:17pm
Hi Lloyd, and welcome!

I have a two-point and an F5 style. They have very different tones, but the two-point is an oval-hole instrument. Personally, I think the shape of the soundhole (oval vs. f type) makes far more difference than the body shape for arch-topped instruments. If you compare a two-point and F style that have oval holes, and a matching pair with F holes, there's not very much difference, assuming they are of equal quality. The points and scrolls on the outside make less difference than the hole shape and overall quality, IMHO.

Chris Biorkman
Aug-09-2008, 3:19pm
There are people who say that there is a difference. I've heard my instructor's Nugget F style and two point and I can't tell much of a difference. I know he actually prefers the two point and almost exclusively plays it when he gigs.

Brandon Flynn
Aug-09-2008, 3:23pm
I think the differences in tone have to do with wood choices and F holes vs oval. If both are F holed and the same woods, they should have the same sort of tone.

Tim2723
Aug-09-2008, 3:27pm
There's another avantage of steering clear of points and scrolls in the beginning, and that's price. Points an scrolls cost extra, but don't alter the sound much. If you stick with a simpler A style, with oval or F hole, you can usually get a much better instrument for the same money.

lloydalan
Aug-09-2008, 3:33pm