PDA

View Full Version : Lyon & healy woods

twaaang
Jul-30-2008, 5:05pm
Would anyone have an opinion as to what specific woods were used for an L&H Style B, circa 1919? I'm beginning to think about replicating the tone in a newer instrument with a different fretboard shape. Thanks for your thoughts. -- Paul

allenhopkins
Jul-30-2008, 9:25pm
Here's a link to the FRETS.com museum display of an L & H Style B. Looking at the pix, I'd say maple B&S, but I'm no expert.

Lyon & Healy Style B (http://www.frets.com/FRETSPages/Museum/Mandolin/LyonHealy/LHB/lhb.html)

man dough nollij
Jul-30-2008, 9:27pm
Looks like maple to me, too:

http://www.frets.com/FRETSPages/Museum/Mandolin/LyonHealy/LHB/LHBViews/lhb07.jpg

twaaang
Jul-31-2008, 7:33am
Right, but where I get lost is the kind of maple -- Eastern, big-leaf, and various European types; likewise I have no eye for the different specific kinds of spruce used in tops. Thanks for your help so far, and sorry my question wasn't clearer. -- Paul

thunderfingers
Jul-31-2008, 7:42am
The two point washburn I have has rose wood back and sides with a spruce top, This was made around 1920s.

Spruce
Jul-31-2008, 9:50am
"Right, but where I get lost is the kind of maple -- Eastern, big-leaf, and various European types; likewise I have no eye for the different specific kinds of spruce used in tops. "

That FRETS.com L & H Style B sports a 2-piece hard Eastern maple back (note the birdseyes) cut on the slab, some eastern curly maple sides, and a non-Sitka spruce top, probably European in origin...

delsbrother
Jul-31-2008, 9:42pm
I've seen several pictures of L&H mandos with birdseye backs. How common was this? Were any Gibsons of the period made with birdseye, and if not any speculation why?

Spruce
Aug-01-2008, 9:29am
"I've seen several pictures of L&H mandos with birdseye backs. How common was this?"

You see it in various instruments throughout the years. #
Not quality fiddles so much, as it tends to be really heavy....