PDA

View Full Version : Blackberry blossom

Sweetpea44
Jul-29-2008, 4:46pm
I've been trying to pick my way through Blackberry Blossom and I have a general question about hand placement. There's a portion of the song that has you playing the 3rd, 5th, and 7th frets on the E string one after the other, and then going back to the 3rd fret. Should I be trying to stretch my pinky up to the 7th fret (I'm a small girl with small hands!), or should I shift my hand up the neck and use my first three fingers and not the pinky, and then shift back down to get back to the 3rd fret? What do other players do? I'm a beginner, so I don't want to get into a bad habit when practicing if you all recommend something. Thanks! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

Brandon Flynn
Jul-29-2008, 4:55pm
If you can't reach with your pinky, you can't reach. The pinky is generally used for the seventh fret, but if you absolutely cannot reach, you'll have to shift. And you can get by not using the pinky for the seventh fret on the top three strings, using open strings instead, but it will limit you down the road playing up the neck.

wadeyankey
Jul-29-2008, 4:58pm
Personally, I would try to use my pinky. Not only does it then allow you to play the whole tune without a position shift, but it's a good workout. I would try to also use the pinky in the B section the E to E octave part(2nd fret D string followed by 7th fret A string), rather than using the open E string. That being said, you always need to do what works best. If you're hands are too small, do whatever works for you. Hope that helps. Good luck.

Bruce Clausen
Jul-29-2008, 5:08pm