PDA

View Full Version : 1954 martin 0-18t

Nathan Kellstadt
Jul-12-2008, 8:35am
I've found a 1954 Martin 0-18T for $900. I have no idea if this is a good deal or not. I'd welcome any opinions. The guitar appears to be in good shape. Thanks.

Brandon Flynn
Jul-12-2008, 9:02am
From what I've seen shopping around it seems like a normal price. But I'm not an expert.

Gary Hedrick
Jul-12-2008, 9:04am
by all means this is a good deal if the instrument is in good shape....no cracks...action good and not needing a neck reset.

Pete Martin
Jul-13-2008, 11:00am
Most I've seen in the 50s are 1500 plus. In the 30's they are 2500 plus. If it is a good guitar, get it.

mandolooter
Jul-13-2008, 12:01pm
uh...no...where? hehehehe http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif
that is a very good price if its in nice shape...the O18-t is a highly desirable tenor guitar for sure!

first string
Jul-14-2008, 3:19pm
Sounds like a steal to me. I love my 1940, and I doubt they changed much about the O-18T model in that time.

Nathan Kellstadt
Jul-15-2008, 9:36am
Thanks for the replies. I went and checked it out and noticed a few items.

There's a crack (about 2 inches long) that runs along the outer edge of the pickguard.

The action on the C string at the 12th fret was about 3/8ths of an inch from the bottom of the string to top of the fret, which I thought was maybe a bit high. I'm paranoid that it may need a neck set.

The nut appears to be some sort of black plastic material that is chipping. Does anyone know what this may be?

Excuse the ignorance, all I really know are mandolins, so sizing up a guitar is foreign to me.

From what I gather here, the price is good assuming it doesn't need any major work, but my dilemna is that I can't tell how much work would need to be done.

Pete Martin
Jul-15-2008, 11:10am