PDA

View Full Version : Multiple mandolins

pinky57
Jun-23-2008, 10:55pm
I have 2 mandolins that I play on a daily basis. Sometimes one plays better than the other. Since I am a beginner, should I stick to just one til I get it right? Does this happen to other folks? I really like both of them. The Eastman usually sounds better, but the Michael Kelly is soooo pretty and sounds almost as good. Maybe as good, just a little different. Any thoughts?

allenhopkins
Jun-23-2008, 11:34pm
...should I stick to just one til I get it right?
Get what right? #If you enjoy playing both instruments, why not play them alternately as your fancy moves you? #You're not hurting your learning process by playing two very similar instruments, IMHO.

It might be different if you were trying to learn, say, guitar and mandolin at the same time; the different tunings, neck sizes, number of strings and scale lengths might lead to confusion (making guitar chords on the mandolin, e.g.). #But I don't think the differences between an Eastman and a MK would be enough to throw you off.

It's no surprise that instruments don't sound identical; even two of the same brand, model and vintage often sound quite distinct, though similar. #That's the variation between individual pieces of wood from which they're constructed, and the slight differences in technique between builders working in the same shop.

As someone who owns nearly 20 mandolin-family instruments, I enjoy the differences in sound among them; that's why I got them, 'cause they sound different. #Enjoy the fact that you can produce different sounds using the same techniques, by selecting one mandolin or the other.

Dave Hanson
Jun-24-2008, 12:14am
I play all my instruments, to spread the wear and tear if nothing else.

Dave H

Tim2723
Jun-24-2008, 7:35am