View Full Version : Scam

Jan-29-2008, 8:13pm
<a href="http://cgi.ebay.com/Gibson-Doyle-Lawson-F5-Mandolin_W0QQitemZ330208179298QQihZ014QQcategoryZ1 0179QQssPageNameZ
WDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem" target="_blank">Scam</a>

Jim Broyles
Jan-29-2008, 8:24pm
How do you know it's a scam? Because the case has a different mandolin in it?

Jan-29-2008, 8:28pm
Kinda looks like
this one (http://www.vintagemandolin.com/03gibsondoylelawson30924040.html)

Jim Broyles
Jan-29-2008, 8:35pm
Yep, sure does. Been removed too.

John Hill
Jan-29-2008, 8:40pm
Now ain't that just too slick.

I hope they didn't take the paypal & run...

Jan-29-2008, 10:13pm
You can always tell Charles Johnson's photos, they have a road in the background.

Looks like it was removed from sale. The guy said that since his feedback is less than 10, he can't do a BUY IT NOW for $2800. Also he added a tiny pix of a mandolin in a case that is not in Charles' website.

Jan-29-2008, 10:43pm
Just to let you guys know that ebay scams on mandolins are many more than you think. Not sure why they hit us so heavy but I personally have stopped 3 mandolin scams this past week. Always look for contact direct not through ebay. A buy it now price in the description not under ebays "buy it now". A strange location like England, Southeast Asia,North Korea somewhere with shipping only $3 by USMail. Some even say FREE shipping. They steal photos and descriptions from any source they can.
They will go back a month and pick a mandolin that sold and re-run it with a stolen identity so everything will look legit. Remember this: If it's too good to be true, it probably is a scam. I can't figure out why ebay can't monitor these scammers quicker. Just the things I have mentioned above should run up an automatic red flag in their computers.