PDA

View Full Version : Mandolins from Iriland

Nick Triesch
Jun-26-2004, 12:50pm
I'm new to the Celtic world of mandolin playing and I notice there is many rules involved. One of the rules is that The A type of mandolin seems to be the mandolin of prefered. I'm no expert but in Iriland when many of the standard song were written, didn't most of the players use round back mandolins? It's just that the folks running the seiseins I've gone to have so many rules like no sheet music, no guitars, must play the song perfect note for note ect. Shouldn't the mandolins be traditional also? I would just like to know what the real deal is. Thank you very much, Nick

Nick Triesch
Jun-26-2004, 1:13pm
Sorry, #Ireland. #http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Jim Garber
Jun-26-2004, 1:45pm
Well, I am no expert on irish music but I would venture to gues that the mandoilin wasn't used at all in Irish music until much much later. In fact the guitar or bouzouki wasn't used either.

Any historians?

Jim

whistler
Jun-26-2004, 8:36pm
Mandolins were being used occasionally in Ireland in the ceili bands of the 1930s, along with banjos, saxophones and other 'non-traditional' instruments. The type of mandolin being used was whatever was available at the time - the banjo mandolin was no doubt favoured for its volume, since electric amplification was more the exception than the rule in those days. The mandolin only really started to be taken seriously as a melody instrument in Irish Traditional Music in the late 1960s, partly due to the influence of bluegrass from America, partly riding on the back of the popularity of the Tenor Banjo (in no small part thanks to Barney McKenna of The Dubliners).