PDA

View Full Version : Michael kelly a-solid vs. kentucky km 160

full.time.mom
May-09-2008, 11:54am
Hi,
I'm not a musician and I'm considering getting my husband a mandolin for our anniversary. #I think I've narrowed it down to the Michael Kelly A-Solid ($299 with a gig bag at local guitar store) or the Kentucky KM 160 ($249 for one with a ding on the finish, includes hard case, tuner, instruction dvd and book from reputable internet dealer). #Both come with thorough set up.

Any thoughts on which is a better choice for a beginner? #Any ideas on strengths/weadnessess of each? #I've gotten this far, but I'm not really sure how to make this decision. #I tend to be a bargain hunter, so the Kentucky appeals to me. #But I also think it's good to have a local shop that will stand behind the instrument. #HELP!

Thanks, in advance, for your thoughts, suggestions, expertise, experience, etc.

Eric F.
May-09-2008, 11:59am
What a nice wife your husband has!

Either of those should make a fine starter mandolin. I suppose you could use the $50 savings on the Kentucky to buy your husband a lesson or some instructional material.

Bob Wiegers
May-09-2008, 12:04pm
oh you rock! is the guitar store a big box or an actual locally-owned? if it's local, I'd go with that, due to the service aspect.

one warning: be prepared for an onslaught of "save up for a better one". please ignore these well-intentioned posts.

full.time.mom
May-09-2008, 1:10pm
Thank you for the compliments, but I'm the one who got the good end of the deal in this marriage! The fact that he's stuck with me for 19 years is worth WAY more that a mandolin, but the mandolin is all I can afford! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/laugh.gif