PDA

View Full Version : Bluegrass music recommendations

Chiledog
May-01-2008, 5:03pm
Ok folks, I have searched, and looked, and dug, and have found nothing.

I am brand new to Bluegrass music. #I would like to get some recommended CD titles to get a bluegrass collection going. #I would like to build a well rounded collection of the different styles of Bluegrass music, with different artists/instruments. #

I would also like to cover the "standards", if you will, so I can be familiar with them next time I head up to Pickin In The Park! #

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Todd

EggerRidgeBoy
May-01-2008, 5:05pm
Ok folks, I have searched, and looked, and dug, and have found nothing.

I am brand new to Bluegrass music. #I would like to get some recommended CD titles to get a bluegrass collection going. #I would like to build a well rounded collection of the different styles of Bluegrass music, with different artists/instruments. #

I would also like to cover the "standards", if you will, so I can be familiar with them next time I head up to Pickin In The Park! #

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Todd
A good way to get started building a CD collection in any genre is to buy a few good compilations, which allow you to get an overview of the different styles and artists without spending a lot. #A couple I'd recommend are Rounder's "Hand-Picked: 25 Years of Bluegrass" and Rhino's "Appalachian Stomp: Bluegrass Classics". #The only compilation that tries to comprehensively cover the entire 60-year history of bluegrass is "Can't You Hear Me Calling" from Sony, but it omits a great many key artists and bands. #Not that what is included isn't good music, but it just shouldn't be viewed as a complete overview of the genre.

If I were to recommend, say, twenty CDs to serve as an introduction to bluegrass, I'd probably list the following: