PDA

View Full Version : Michael kelly electric mando

gretsch6120
Apr-16-2008, 4:25pm
Hello all - this is my first venture into the mandolin world! I have been playing the guitar for 11 years (41 years old) and am intersted in getting a electric mando to use on a few songs with my Cajun/Zydeco band here in Lafayette, LA. What about this Michael Kelly brand? Any thoughts? Looking to spend about $400-500, need a pickup. Any tips or advice will be appreciated!

mrmando
Apr-16-2008, 4:40pm
In that price range I'd look for a secondhand Godin A8. Do you want an "amplified acoustic" sound or a full-on electric sound?

gretsch6120
Apr-16-2008, 5:21pm
Not sure, like I said, this is my first go 'round with mandolin. I guess an amplifier acoustic is what I am after.

ALog
Apr-16-2008, 5:30pm
Michael Kelly's are fine but make sure to play if you can....they are like most instruments or for that matter anything....good and bad. Get one you like!

Folkmusician.com
Apr-16-2008, 5:35pm
A new Michael Kelly will be above this price range. The FSE is the lowest price MK with a pickup system.

These come with an OEM Fishman system. This is not as nice as the retail Fishman mandolin pickup and an external preamp, but it does do a good job and provides an excellent value considering they do not typically add that much to the mandolin's price.

Of the mandolins I have seen, $400-$500 may not be enough to get a nice F model Acoustic Electric Mando and there is very little available as far as A-models with preinstalled pickups. You might consider an A model and installing a pickup.

mrmando
Apr-16-2008, 5:44pm
Again, the Godin A8 is a great value, and used copies can be found in this price range (check eBay and Craig's List). It has a very nice amplified acoustic tone that compares favorably to any Fishman system.

You might want to see what you can get from Elloree Guitars (http://elloreeguitars.com/) in that price range. One of the few low-cost small shops that offers a pickup option.