PDA

View Full Version : My new weber fern

Sean Greer
Apr-09-2008, 12:53pm
While I'm pretty new to the mandolin, I've thrown myself at it and love, love, love playing! My first mandolin was a gift and while I really love the tone of the oval hole, I wanted more of that bluegrass tone and chop.

This beauty was purchased from The Mandolin Store and I have been having a great time putting in my two hours a day!

Sean Greer
Apr-09-2008, 12:54pm
Here's another pic.

Sean Greer
Apr-09-2008, 12:55pm
And one of the back...

Carleton Page
Apr-09-2008, 1:16pm
That is awesome! The grain of the top is really beautiful!

Kevin Briggs
Apr-09-2008, 1:21pm
Welcome, my Weber brethern!

That thing is a beauty, and I'm sure ti sounds as great as it looks. Do you have any sound clips?

Feel free to browse my YouTube videos, accessible from the link below my name in this post. It shows me playing my Fern in a bunch of vidoes. I can say that I am amazed at the quality of my mandolin. It's incredible, as long as I put in the playing time on it. It warms up and plays very lightly, but with big, complex sound.

Sean Greer
Apr-09-2008, 1:30pm
Feel free to browse my YouTube videos, accessible from the link below my name in this post. It shows me playing my Fern in a bunch of vidoes. I can say that I am amazed at the quality of my mandolin. It's incredible, as long as I put in the playing time on it. It warms up and plays very lightly, but with big, complex sound.
I can say that browsing your videos contributed mightily to my MAS! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif I really enjoy watching and listening to your playing, so keep up the great work.

The playability of this mandolin is much better than my oval hole. The action is real light, and when you dig into it she just comes to life! I can't wait to see how she develops over the years.

I'll try to post a sound clip in the near future.

troika
Apr-09-2008, 2:22pm