PDA

View Full Version : Entering a mandolin contest

jim_n_virginia
Mar-24-2008, 7:44pm
Hey all I am thinking about entering the mandolin contest in Galax this year. My buddy wants to enter the fiddler contest.

I am not too experienced in contests. I have only entered one contest (came in second place) up in Winchester, VA and it was so much fun I want to enter another.

I was reading the rules for the contest and it says this about the contest tune you play.

© Individual Contestant must play a verse and chorus of a recognizable song from the public domain before any refund, otherwise, contestant will be disqualified and will not be refunded. Judges' decisions are final.

So songs from the public domain. I understand that. Songs that have been out so long they no longer belong to anyone.

But what about fiddle tunes? The rules don't mention anything about that.

I was thinking of playing Jerusalem Ridge for a contest song. Is it in the public domain or does the estate of Bill Monroe still have a copyright on it?

The only songs I can think of that are in the public domain are Stephen Foster songs, but besides I am playing in the mandolin contest so I wouldn't be playing no song anyways but a fiddle tune.

So does that mean I am restrained to only playing Soldier's Joy, Whiskey Before Breakfast, St Anne's Reel etc.?

I was thinking a good contest tune would be Jerusalem Ridge, Rawhide, Brilliancy or some thing like that.

Anybody ever compete in Glalax (or any other contest)? Sure would love to hear about it.

Daniel Wheeler
Mar-24-2008, 8:12pm
I have done guitar contests and I have never heard of pretty much any fiddle tune not being allowed. But these societies get ridiculous with some of there rules. The easiest way to do a contest is with the standard winfield rules that practically every state and other contests abide by. I have no experience with galax so I don't really know what they do but like I said I would think any fiddle tune would be fine.