PDA

View Full Version : Weber anniversary mandolin

PsychoMando
Mar-21-2008, 6:39pm
So here's my story. By day I'm a forensic psychologist. But by night, I reclaim my humanity through music. For 26 years, I've played on a trusty, but simple, Ibanez mandolin. In celebrating our 20th Anniversary, my beautiful bride said she wanted to buy me the mandolin of my dreams - which was of course a Weber! Here's some of what went into this anniversary heirloom.

First, what you don't see:
Tone-bar bracing, which ages better over time.
A cedar top, which makes for a richer sound and better projection.
A McIntyre Acoustic Feather pick-up, the perfect assist when playing in church with enthusiastic banjo players, electric keyboardists and drummers.

PsychoMando
Mar-21-2008, 6:41pm
Second, what's up front:
A custom "filled" tailpiece that matches the color of the cedar top (Mary at, Weber/Sound-to-Earth, suggested this).
A "Wood-Nymph" with custom inlay of "Hypomone" - a Konia Greek word that roughly translates "God's grace under fire."
A fossilized, walrus-bone bridge and nut. #This improves tone and volume. #Vern was kind enough to create a custom "Brekke" bridge on this.

PsychoMando
Mar-21-2008, 6:43pm
A Gecko inlay in the scalloped fret-board. In the desert Southwest, the sighting of a gecko is considered to be a blessing upon a home. The three stones on his back are sapphire - the stone for September (the month we married and the birth month for both of our children).
I wanted a finger rest, and Mary wisely suggested making it scalloped to flow with the fret-board.

PsychoMando
Mar-21-2008, 6:44pm
A truss-rod cover inlaid with "Wonder" - my middle name (my parents had a sense of humor).
The "Fern" abalone headstock. An upgrade for the Yellowstone.

PsychoMando
Mar-21-2008, 6:45pm
Thirdly, on the back:
A cross in the heel - a reflection of the most significant relationship in my life.

PsychoMando
Mar-21-2008, 6:46pm