PDA

View Full Version : One instrument?

Griffis
Feb-15-2008, 11:36pm
Hello, All.

Well, I don't know if I've come for advice or just conversation, but I'd like to hear your thoughts on a matter that's been on my mind.

I've been playing music for 30 years. Currently I play 6-string acoustic guitar, acoustic tenor guitar and tenor banjo (both tuned GDAE), ukulele and mandolin.

And I play at learning the harmonica and mess with the musical saw from time to time.

In my day I've also played some 5-string banjo and fiddle. At one time I was really pretty good and in-demand as an electric bass player too, but that was another life really.

Now, I'm passable at most of these instruments (just a novice at mandolin)--average on some, plus or minus average on others.

But I gotta say, there are times I really get tired of the "player of many instruments, master of NONE" thing that goes along with the musical instrument merry-go-round.

I mean, I enjoy being able to jump from one thing to another, but my little studio room is awash with instruments and my time is so taken up with work and family that I can go months without touching many of the instruments I own.

I've been weighing in my mind the possibility of settling into one instrument pretty much at the exclusion of all others, and that would be the mandolin. It's something I really want to excel at. I don't have the funds to buy a very nice mandolin, but if I sold off a lot of my other instruments, I could land a fine mando.

Have any of you ever started from a place where you jumped from instrument to instrument, then decided "Enough!" and winnowed your collection down to where you were really concentrating on one thing?