PDA

View Full Version : Bridge Fit

straight-a
Feb-04-2004, 10:25am
I have a new A-9 Gibson that sounds and plays great. When you hold it up to the light, you can see a few very tiny spots of light under the bridge feet. Is this something that should be remedied or could it be the grain of the top? Do I need to take it to a luthier for a better fitting? Would appreciate any suggestions/comments on this matter.

Chris Baird
Feb-04-2004, 11:13am
It should be perfect. There should be no light anywhere in the contact areas.

John Zimm
Feb-04-2004, 5:28pm
I was wondering about this issue myself. When I was looking for a new mandolin I played one that had an ill-fitting bridge. I asked one of the repairmen if that is something that he could fit more closely, and he said he thought it would not make much difference. I am inclined to disagree, but I am not an expert. Far from it, in fact.

-John.

Yonkle
Feb-05-2004, 12:13am
I had a small gap at the two ends of my bridge and thought, that won't matter much! Then I later sanded it down to a perfect flush fit and found out it did matter, sounded a little more full and louder, but best of all you are not thinking about it and wondering "should I fix it?" Just fix it, you will feel better about your mandolin if anything! JD

jugband
Feb-05-2004, 2:16am
I asked one of the repairmen if that is something that he could fit more closely, and he said he thought it would not make much difference.
One of the things that's supposed to be done during set-up, whether it's on a mandolin, a bass, or a fiddle, is to get the bridge-feet to fit EXACTLY.

Any place where it's not in full contact is losing you volume, and probably tone.

The feet are the only linkage between the strings and the face of the instrument.

If they didn't touch at ALL, you'd get NO sound at all.

The closer they come to not touching at all, the closer you come to getting no sound at all.

Do yourself a favor have nothing more to do, AT ALL with that guy.