PDA

View Full Version : Post a pic of your picks

pjlama
Feb-08-2008, 12:34am
I started playing mandolin less than two years ago after playing bass for 25 years. All I needed for bass was my fingers. Playing mandolin has been quite the education on how much a pick changes your tone and playing. I've acquired lots of picks, once I find one I like I buy a bunch just in case and then move on to something else. Anyway, here's just a smattering of picks in the box but a good cross section. I omitted duplicates, or same pick different guage. I use the Wegen TF120 on mostly but have decided my newly acquired jazzmando pick works best on my MM. I can't wait to see what you guys who've been playing forever have to show us.

craig.collas
Feb-08-2008, 5:27am
Hi
I found the sound was changed when I shaped the point as in the red bear picks. That made a huge difference to the sound of my dawg pick. Still experementing.
Craig

AlanN
Feb-08-2008, 6:56am
Nice collection there. I like cell A2 http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

MikeEdgerton
Feb-08-2008, 8:29am
My collection has become really boring. I use the same brand and size pick for everything.

Ace
Feb-08-2008, 8:37am
I too have tried a lot of different pics but the best one is one I have made myself. I can't keep enough of them around when I go to jams and such. Everyone wants one! Takes me about 10 minutes to produce! I did JUST receive a new pic from Pics and stones made from Brazilian Agate. A big difference in sound from all the others and Imight say it's a little cleaner sounding! I DO like the REAL shell too! LOL

pjlama
Feb-08-2008, 11:11am
Boring or not let's see them.

Mandolusional
Feb-08-2008, 12:16pm
Here are mine, but I only use the lefty TF140 one on the bottom right.

JeffD
Feb-08-2008, 12:51pm
Run away, run away!

MikeEdgerton
Feb-08-2008, 12:56pm
We are reaching the limits of good taste folks. Let me rephrase that, we have surpassed the limits of good taste.

pjlama