PDA

View Full Version : What is the best way to just do it your self?

Ramdolph
Jan-27-2008, 12:40am
I am pretty much on my own, Highly motivated to learn the mando and very unsure which learning path to follow,any suggestions for this new guy!

Ramdolph
Jan-27-2008, 12:54am
Im planning on learning standard notation. Im a banjo player and have done most of my learning by ear and some tab. I know I should'nt have let the cat out of the bag about the banjo on this web site! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

Ivan Kelsall
Jan-27-2008, 3:15am
Randy - I'm self taught on Banjo,Guitar & i'm in the process of teaching myself Mandolin.
On all instruments,first off i went for the basic 'chords'.You need a good tuition book,& no doubt there are many people on here who could recommend one or more of them.
# Sticking with Mandolin,i just got the chords to a few Bluegrass songs to start off with & learned how to play those on the Mandolin. Because most of the chords are 'moveable',when you've got the chords off in say the key of 'G',just move up a couple of frets,& using the same chord shapes,you're now playing in the key of 'A'.
# Of course,i had a distinct advantage in being able to play 2 other instruments,so
waggling my left hand fingers around wasn't a problem,but i still had to learn the 'new' chord shapes like anyone else. You also play Banjo,so like me you're almost half way there. The idea of learning chords is that once you've got a few under your belt,you can then join in a jam session just playing rhythm. I went a whole lot further than just learning chords to Bluegrass songs,i learned a whole lot of chords for songs by my all time favourite band,'The Eagles'. I can play the chords on Guitar to many of their songs & to play the same chords on Mandolin seemed like a good opportunity to extend my 'chord base' knowledge.