PDA

View Full Version : Dvd suggestons

heyday
Jan-18-2008, 3:32pm
Well, I'm new here, and I got a mandolin for Christmas, the $50 Rogue, but it has gotten me just a little smitten with learning this thing. I grew up around Bluegrass and Country music, so on the mandolin I naturally start to gravitate to Bluegrass. I started playing Bluegrass bass, oh... MANY years ago, and can play rhythm guitar pretty good.

So with a good background on a lot of the songs, etc, I'd really like a DVD or something that could help me work on learning the Bluegrass Mandolin.

I see lots out there, Sam Bush, etc... so
What are some good ones, for someone familar with music, but new to the mandolin?

Thanks.

heyday
Jan-19-2008, 5:08pm
No suggestions? Did I miss something somewhere?

re simmers
Jan-19-2008, 7:43pm
Give us a lttle time! It's hard to say without knowing whether or not you are a complete novice. But, the Mandolin of Bill Monroe, Vol. 1 and 2 from Homespun.com is good. I guess I would give a stronger recommendation to Herschel Sizemore's instructional DVD. Pay close to attention to what Herschel says about the right hand. That is essential!

Bob Simmers

Steve Cantrell
Jan-19-2008, 9:25pm
I would second the Monroe DVD, although keep in mind some of his stuff can be pretty crooked for a beginner. My first mandolin instruction of any type was one of those "Murphy Method" VHS tapes. I learned to play along and at least got the feel for it. I followed that up with Roland White's Book and CDs, which were invaluable.

heyday
Jan-19-2008, 9:59pm
No suggestions? Did I miss something somewhere?
Being new to the site, I wasn't real sure if I'd even posted in the correct area. I'd searched around a bit and didn't see anything related... Well, that's why I made the comment in case I'd missed something.