PDA

View Full Version : Mandolin strap

russhaire
Feb-03-2004, 8:26pm
Hello I just purchased a mando and am anxious to get started learning to play the beauty. (Morgan Monroe MMS-3)
I need suggestions as to where I can get a strap and what type to get etc. I know this is trivial to yall but I'm new to all this, and could really use your help.
Thanks
Russ

pickinNgrinnin
Feb-03-2004, 8:45pm
Leather Boot Lace, 75 cents. Make a hangman's knot on each end. Works great. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/mandosmiley.gif

Stillpicking
Feb-03-2004, 8:50pm
Try Elderly just click on their banner ad on the front page.
I have a Levy thin leather strap I think I paid under $15 from Elderly. Just click on any of the banners and most have mando straps for sale. If you have an "F" that is a scroll make sure you get a strap that says it will work with an "F" which simply means their is a large loop at one end that fits over and under the scroll and the other end of the strap will have a small hole for the end peg.
Have fun looking!

ira
Feb-03-2004, 8:51pm
spurgeon straps are great and inexpensive braided straps- he usually has ads in the classifieds

i also just got - approx one hour ago, a longhollow leather softy- many on this site swear by em, and i think rigel sells them .

levin4now
Feb-03-2004, 9:32pm
I ended up with leather boot lace tied in a hangman's noose to go around the scroll, and a little knot (with a spurgeon-strap bead) to keep it tight at the endpin. Works great, and if none of my playing resembles that of Sam Bush, at least my strap does.

http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Scotti Adams
Feb-03-2004, 9:55pm
...A 'Roo strap.....the best money can buy....contact AlanN here on the board...pricey..but it will be the last strap you will ever need...

John Flynn
Feb-03-2004, 9:58pm