PDA

View Full Version : Gibson headstock

Mandoborg
Nov-28-2007, 6:45pm
Disclaimer: NO Gibson bashing, just a interesting question.

I had an interesting discussion with one of the engineers at work today on patents and tradmarks etc...I mentioned how Gibson was having 'issues' with people using the Flowerpot and how they went after PRS for the single cut guitar. He asked one of those questions that make you go ' Hmmm VERY good question ' !
What if your last name was Martin or Gibson, could you put that on your headstock ?? I personally had never thought of that....If my last name was either, i'd be bummed that i'd have to call my instruments by another name .

Jim Combra

Daniel1975
Nov-28-2007, 6:53pm
I don't think there would be a problem as long as you used a different script/font.

sunburst
Nov-28-2007, 6:57pm
I'm not a lawyer, but I have thought about that.
If Gibson or Martin has a trademark/copyright/whatever legal protection on the name, you can't legally sell instruments under that name.
If you are Fred Gibson and you build yourself on instrument (or maybe a couple) with you name on 'em? I suspect you wouldn't get in any trouble. They can't take your name away, they can just try to stop you from selling instruments under their protected name by whatever legal means their fleet of lawyers decides to use.

mythicfish
Nov-28-2007, 7:00pm
"What if your last name was Martin or Gibson"

I remember a Guitar/mandolin act: The Case Brothers ... Martin and Gibson.

But more to the point ... this is a pointless topic unless you're a well-known builder or a builder's lawyer.
I suppose I'd better add IMO, YMMV, LSMFT and all that rot.

Chris Biorkman
Nov-28-2007, 7:11pm
You guys should know that when Curt doesn't deem a topic to be worthy of discussion you are no longer allowed to discuss it.

Walter Newton
Nov-28-2007, 7:20pm