PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here, green as the day is long

Damnation Gulch
Jun-05-2004, 12:28pm
Hi, I’m a newbie to the board and I have a tried and true / oldie but a goodie question for you elders. I’ve been playing mandolin for about three years and really enjoy it as my next to main instrument (I’ve been playing guitar for 24 years). I took to the mandolin fairly quickly as it seems only to be a matter of chord and scale variations to playing guitar. Sure Thile, Grisman, Marshall are my main cats and I know very little beyond that besides, Watson, Flatt and Scruggs. Heres the question:

I’ve been playing a Rogue A style and it seems fine to me although I know there are much better mandolin’s than this (like in a box of Cracker Jacks). I cant see paying two or five thousand dollars for a mandolin even though I own a $2200 Jackson guitar (not what I paid). I would like to buy something I wouldn’t have to replace again and it seems the bottom line around here (I’ve been lurking) is you cant beat a Gibson (F5 and A9’s seem to be popular choices). I’m willing to spend $800 (who knows, in the future I may make the big leap) and was wondering between Michael Moore, Morgan Monroe, Kentucky and these Mid Missouri’s I’ve seen ya’ll talk about (but have never heard of or seen), which is the best, or are they all ####? They seem to vary by a couple of hundred dollars and if a $500 dollar Kentucky is better than a $800 Michael Moore I would appreciate any help you can give. Right now I have my eye on the discontinued Michael Kelly “Phoenix” model…

Frank Russell
Jun-07-2004, 8:51am