PDA

View Full Version : Newbie, here's my mandolin

plaintop
Nov-10-2007, 7:59pm
Hello, I'm very new to the Mandolin, but very well versed at electric and acoustic guitar. Here's my entry level Bradley Mandolin. It sounds really good. I think it even has Brazilian rosewood back and sides.

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff258/plaintop/mando1.jpg

http://i237.photobucket.com/albums/ff258/plaintop/mando2.jpg

JEStanek
Nov-10-2007, 8:05pm
It looks nice! Welcome to the Café.

Jamie

plaintop
Nov-10-2007, 8:40pm
Hi Jamie, thanks for the welcome.

It's cool, nothing like what some of you here have. I just wanted to see if I could get into the instrument without spending too much. So far, I'm really enjoying it.

johnwalser
Nov-10-2007, 9:43pm
plaintop,

If your journey into mandolin playing yields you even a quarter of the pleasure it has brought me, you will be a very lucky individual.

John

Fliss
Nov-11-2007, 5:02am
Hi plaintop, welcome! Nice mandolin - enjoy http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/smile.gif

Fliss

ab4usa
Nov-11-2007, 7:37am
Welcome indeed! Nice to see a fellow Marylander here.

Soupy1957
Nov-11-2007, 8:02am
Greetings from Connecticut, and the world of Mandolin players. Watch out for "M.A.S.!!!"

-Soupy1957

plaintop
Nov-11-2007, 8:41am
Thanks everyone!

rekx
Nov-11-2007, 8:43am
Very nice looking mandolin...have fun!

plaintop
Nov-11-2007, 8:58am
Yeah, for $70 with a case, it's hard to beat this one. Bradley instruments were made in Japan for Veneman's music, who had shops around the Washington DC area in the '70s and '80s (they eventually sold out to GC). So, these instruments pop up around here from time to time and I had been wanting to get a Mandolin for while. I passed on a 1920s Gibson F style mandolin the same shop had earlier this year for a grand, and have been regretting it ever since.

Can anyone confirm the rosewood origin from the back shot?

Kevin Briggs
Nov-11-2007, 9:24am