PDA

View Full Version : Frets

Ace
Oct-10-2007, 7:34pm
Just registered today so this may have already been asked before so bear with me.

How do you know if your mandolin needs NEW frets? My Gibson F5 is a 2003 model and played a LOT professionally until I purchased it this year and now not as much but the frets are very thin especially down near the tuners and about half way up! Some of them are grooved looking but mostly just thinner or maybe I should say shorter than the rest!

Thanks...
Ace

Ace
Oct-11-2007, 1:09pm
WOW 57 people to view this and NO answers! Do any of you know how or when to do this or do you JUST play? http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

Ace

Mike Buesseler
Oct-11-2007, 1:15pm
Don't despair, Ace. Occasionally you feel like the Lone Ranger around here, but people will eventually come to your rescue.

First off, I am not an expert or a luthier, but it sounds to me like you definitely need a fret job. I can't think of anything else that fits your description. You getting some buzzing when you play in the lower registers? Most likely new frets, at least the first 9, or so. Expect to pay around $250, give or take. Find someone who knows what they are doing! Good luck.

Now we're both hanging out here....see if someone else disagrees with me. http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/wink.gif

bradeinhorn
Oct-11-2007, 1:25pm
sometimes this can be solved with a simpler grind and polish of the frets. buzzing caused by the frets are a good indicator of whether it needs work or not. the gibson will likely have thinner frets than most. if you aren't experiencing any buzz, i'd leave it be.

Ace
Oct-11-2007, 1:26pm
I heard or read somewhere that some people were using a larger fret. Is this something new to make for easier playing or is this just a myth? It's an 03 Gibson F5G and I want whatever is best for it!

Ace

Ace
Oct-11-2007, 1:29pm