PDA

View Full Version : New player looking to upgrade mandolin

Steelee
Oct-03-2007, 8:42am
Longtime bluegrass listener who decided to learn the mandolin at age 58. I have been playing for 9 months with an entry level Johnson Savanah F from the internet. I did not want to make a major investment as I was not sure if I would like it, or could do it. I found that I like it very much. I have up to $2,000 to upgrade to a used or new F style. At this point in my playing, would it be wise to move up half way to the $1,000 level (new or used), or something in the $2,000 range (new or used)? Your thoughts and help, please.

MikeEdgerton
Oct-03-2007, 8:52am
A used Gibson F9 or a used Montana or Nashville Flatiron would be my choice. I'd also take a look at used Gibson and Flatiron A styles. I know that's a hard place to go but you can get a lot of mandolin for 2 grand if you go with an A.

Kevin Briggs
Oct-03-2007, 9:01am
You have lots of options in the $2,000 range.

You should scour the Classifieds here, and contact someone like Dennis at www.themandolinstore.com. I recommend an A style. Also, my prefernce is this company, with which Dennis works very closely: www.soundtoearth.com.

A good independent lthier can also be had for $2,000, and it's a great way to support the mandolin community.

Lee
Oct-03-2007, 11:46am
I'd say go used. Take a new mandoin off the showroom floor and you'll take a good 20% hit on re-sale. Though if you trust your next purchase will be your last, then go new.
In any case, try out as many as possible so you know what features and tone strike your fancy.

earthsave
Oct-03-2007, 11:51am
A decent used F should be able to be found in the price range. Or a very nice used A style.

Take your time, keep your eyes open, and keep playing with your Johnson.:p

Walter Newton
Oct-03-2007, 12:04pm