PDA

View Full Version : Benefit questions

wsm
Sep-18-2007, 11:25am
I am a musician who plays out every once in a while. At the same time I am President of a nonprofit corporation that privides funds for a charter school.

Recently I had the opportunity to book a nationally known musician (mandolin player) to play a benefit show.

One of my fellow board members owns a sound company and he reviewed the contract and thought I was going to get taken to the cleaners. Anyway, we decided to not move forward with the benefit.

My question is, how do most artists handle benefit shows? Do they take a percentage of the gate? Is there a breakeven point at which the organization gets everything above? Do some artists just donate 100% of their fee as a tax write off?

I would like to try and pull off some type of a benefit show but I think I need to have the proper perspective from a profession artist point of view.

Thanks,

Yellowmandolin
Sep-18-2007, 11:43am
I know that at the MACC Bluegrass Classic in Columbus, Ohio the artists donate their time and sell boatloads of CDs... But that is a big festival, not a private party like how I understand your thing to be. Not really much help, but thats all I know! http://www.mandolincafe.net/iB_html/non-cgi/emoticons/tounge.gif

Bob_Blackman
Sep-18-2007, 12:42pm
In my limited experience with benefit concerts, I've seen many different arrangements:
1) Artist plays for no fee (especially if they're local).
2) Artist plays for expenses only (lodging and transportation).
3) Artist gets a flat fee, which might (or might not) be less than their usual, but they waive any percentage/bonus.