PDA

View Full Version : Johnson ma-550 vs tc

lance_wallen
Sep-15-2007, 1:56pm
I've been playin guitar and a variety of other instruments for about 17 years now. I recently started playing around with my friends mandolin and I really liked it. So while I was doing research on them I ran across a video of some one playing an octave and I absolutely fell in love with the sound. Since then I've been a little obsessed.

So, I'm about to make my first purchase. I'm looking at a good learning instrument: i.e. easy enough to play that it wont frustrate me to no end, complex enough that once I get my chops I can actually PLAY it (my guitar background and the experience I had on mandolin is I'll be picking it up pretty fast) and somewhat sturdy.

I don't want to blow a grand on an instrument just yet, I know I'll end up doing that anyway but i need a good beater to learn on. Everything I've read (which has been limited) has pointed me towards the Johnson MA-550 and the TC OM.

I was wanting some comparisons you guys might have, I've access to a quality guy to do the set up on either and I intend on immediately putting on a bone nut and after warming up to it replacing the tailpiece. Question is, which should i get?

I've both available to me at this point, I can potentially get the Johnson a little cheaper than the TC but the TC would be coming with a hard case and already set up whereas I'd have to get the Johnson set up and what not.

So, Johnson MA-550 or TC OM? Or... is there a better third option out there I'm not aware of that meets my criteria?

zoukboy
Sep-15-2007, 2:47pm
My vote would be for the TC. It will probably need a set-up and will benefit greatly from an upgrade to one of Randy Allen's cast tailpieces. And replacing the bridge is also a good idea.

Celtic Saguaro
Sep-15-2007, 3:01pm